Bayelsa Constitutes Special Task Force To Police Its Waterways

The Bayelsa State Governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson has approved the setting up of an eleven man special task force on water safety security to give adequate policing to the numerous creeks and waterways across the state to safeguard lives and property.


The task force, which is coming on the heels of the constitution of the marine branch of Operation Doo Akpor is aimed at stemming the tide of kidnappings, sea piracy, illegal bunkering  and oil pipeline vandalism that, have been on the increase in recent times in the State.


A Government House statement explains that, the task force is expected to liaise with the Operation Doo Akpor-Marine, which is to be headed by a Naval Officer.


The eleven man task force has Ebikabowei Victor Ben as chairman, with Osei Clever as vice chairman, while Tony Ekisa, Pastor Reuben Wilson, Ayibatari Odio, Alalebo West, as members.


Others are Ibarakumo Otobo, Daubiri Samba, Chiefson O. Chiefson, Etai Daniel and Pius Andabai Wariyai.


Governor Seriake Dickson, who expressed deep concern over the rising cases of insecurity in our waterways, called on community leaders, youths and the general public to be vigilant and cooperate with the special task force as well as the various security agencies to flush out the perpetrators of criminal activities in the waters.


According to the statement, the date for the inauguration of the special task force and the leadership of Operation Doo Akpor Marine will be announced later, with both bodies to function under the direct supervision and coordination of the Special Adviser to the Governor on Security Matters, Rtd Colonel Bernard Kenebai.

Hon. Seriake Dickson