Burkina Faso shock Ghana to face Nigeria in AFCON 2013 final

950066-15636688-640-360African Cup of Nations semi-final, Mbombela Stadium – Burkina Faso 1 (Bance 60) Ghana 1 (Wakaso 13 pen). Burkina Faso win 3-2 on penalties.

Minnows Burkina Faso overcame an embarrassing refereeing display to shock Ghana 3-2 on penalties to reach their first African Cup of Nations Final.

After a 1-1 draw in normal time, the Burkinabes dominated extra-time but could not find a breakthrough, with a clear penalty appeal rejected as Jonathan Pitroipa was shown a second yellow card for diving.

Rennes star Pitroipa had to watch from the stands but his team-mates won the shoot-out, with Ghana missing three of their kicks. It remains to be seen whether CAF will overturn his dismissal, but the rules state bookings can only be cancelled out for mistaken identity and he is set to miss the final.

Tunisian ref Slim Jdidi had awarded Ghana a soft penalty in the first half, which Mubarak Wakaso converted, having just rejected a Burkinabe penalty appeal with far greater merit.

He then disallowed Prejuce Nakoulma’s extra-time goal after the energetic winger hooked the ball beyond the keeper, deciding he had fouled John Boye in doing so.

The crowning glory came late in extra time, when Pitroipa was clearly fouled in the box by Boye, but Jdidi showed him a yellow card for diving, before sending him off as he had already been booked.

In fairness to Ghana, they were also on the end of some odd decisions, such as that to only book Paul Koulibaly after he kicked Asamoah Gyan in the groin.

And Burkina Faso ultimately should have won it in spite of the refereeing, with powerhouse striker Bance missing two good chances and seeing another cleared off the line by Harrison Afful.

However he was a hero in the end as his cheeky ‘Panenka’ penalty proved to be the winner, with Douda Diakite brilliantly saving from Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu to send the Stallions into their first final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>