Rwanda elected to UN Security Council despite accusations of supporting Congo rebels

By IndepthAfrica
In Rwanda
Oct 18th, 2012
1 Comment

UNITED NATIONS—The UN General Assembly elected Rwanda, Argentina and Australia to the 15-national Security Council on Thursday for 2013 and 2014.

Rwanda and Argentina were unopposed in their bids for the Africa seat and the Latin American and Caribbean seat, but needed to win a two-thirds majority of the 193-member General Assembly.

Rwanda won 148 votes and Argentina won 182 votes.

The last time Rwanda was on the council was in 1994-95. That coincided with the 1994 genocide in which 800,000 people were killed when the Hutu-led government and ethnic militias went on a 100-day killing spree, killing Tutsis and moderate Hutus.

South Korea beat Cambodia and Bhutan to win the two-thirds majority of the General Assembly needed to secure the one Asia-Pacific seat. South Korea received 149 votes in the second round of voting.

Luxembourg won over Finland to take the second of two seats available for the “Western European and Others” group. Luxembourg picked up 131 votes. Australia won the first seat available to the group after the first round of voting.

The countries leaving the council in December are Colombia, Germany, India, South Africa and Portugal. The five current council members remaining until the end of 2013 are Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Pakistan, Togo and Morocco.

This post has already been read 6 times!