Solidarity Committee hands memo to Sudan’s HRs Commission

By IAfrica
In Sudan
Jul 23rd, 2014

The Sudanese Committee of Solidarity with the Victims of the September Demonstrations on Tuesday submitted a memorandum concerning the human rights situation in the country to the National Human Rights Commission in Khartoum.

In the protest memo, the Committee strongly condemned the human rights violations in Sudan, and demanded from the government to release all political prisoners, and allow freedom of press and political action in the country.

Siddig Yousif, the Committee’s chairman told Radio Dabanga that they have information about 34 people being held in government detention centres. “Of the Sudanese Congress Party (SCP) alone, 24 members are being held by the National intelligence and Security Service (NISS), among them chairman Ibrahim El Sheikh.”

Yousif expressed his regret that “we could not identify detainees in Darfur, Blue Nile, and South Kordofan.”

Members of the Committee who handed the memorandum included Mohamed Abdallah El Doma, head of the Darfur Bar Association; Dr Ibrahim El Amin, prominent member of the National Umma Party; Taha Yassin, the head of the Democratic Solidarity Party; Abdel Gayoum Awad, Secretary-General of the Sudanese Congress Party and his deputy Malik Abulhassan; Hussein Saad, representative of the Sudanese Journalists Network, and Siddig Yousif, chairman of the Solidarity Committee.

File photo: Demonstrators detained in a NISS detention centre in Khartoum North, September 2013


Women protest party leaders’ detention in Sudan’s West Kordofan (17 July 2014)

‘Sudan dry season campaign includes widespread detentions’: HRs organisation (11 July 2014)

Roadblocks prevent protest in Sudan’s capital (29 May 2014)

Sudan’s opposition form solidarity committee for victims of September demonstrations (5 December 2013) 

read more

This post has already been read 1 times!

Comments are closed.