Suba Ward Councilor: We are elected to stimulate development

By IAfrica
In Gambia
May 14th, 2014

The councilor of Suba Ward Yaya Bojang affirmed that they are voted into office as Ward councilors to promote development at their respective wards.

He made this remark on Friday during a dialogue meeting with the Kombo Central District Youth Committee executive members at the conference hall of the Office of the Governor, in Brikama West Coast Region (WCR).

According to him, they are opened to development in all aspects, noting that the work of a ward councilor is to stimulate development to the doorsteps of their people. “We should represent the interests and of our people as ward councilors at the Council,’’ he added.

Bojang maintained that, their positions were given to them by the people, in order to promote. The councilor of Suba Ward further noted that, any position entrusted to them should be respected and protected as responsibility goes with obligation. He thus said defending the integrity of the people is vital as a representative.

Commenting on the District Youth Farm, he noted that venturing into farming will yield positive results towards the attainment of food self-sufficiency, which is the wish of the Gambian Leader. He went on to assure his readiness and willingness in complementing their drive to promote the clarion call made by President Jammeh. 

Lamin Jarju, the councilor of Marakissa Ward then called on the youth of the District to advocate for development and more youth participation towards the attainment of the food self-sufficiency initiative. He assured them of their readiness in partnering with people in working towards the development of the district and the country at large.

Jarju told the gathering that any elected member should serve the interest of the people, in order to guide and protect the trust and confidence bestowed on to them.

For his part, Albino F Gomez, the chairperson of the Kombo Central District Youth Committee applauded the two councilors for responding to their invitation, saying that it is what is expected from an elected member. He noted that the committee would continue cementing the existing relationship with the authorities, in order to promote unity, oneness and development.

Other speakers included Omar Jawara chairperson SaYCDA, Gilbert Jassey, Michelle Mendy, Sona Bajinka and Mathew Jatta, all applauded the Councilors for their gesture and support towards the development of the young people in the district.

This post has already been read 2 times!

Comments are closed.