The Nation reporter is Business Writer of the Year

In Nigeria
Sep 4th, 2014

A senior correspondent with The Nation, Mr. Collins Nweze, has been declared the winner of the eighth edition of the Nigeria Media Nite-Out Award in Lagos at the weekend.

Nweze won in the ‘Business Writer of The Year’ category.

He beat Stanley Opara, Punch; Chukwu Onaeke, The Guardian; Kehinde Ibrahim, Nigeria Pilot and Maduka Nweke, The Sun to clinch the award.

Mercy Michael, Leke Salaudeen and Kunle Akinrinade, all of The Nation, were also nominated in the Entertainment Writer of The Year, Political Writer of The Year and Crime Writer of The Year categories.

Winners in other categories include Samson Folarin of Puch who won the Crime Writer of The Year; Segun Koiki from National Mirror won in the Brand Writer of The Year category while Ajibade Alabi of Daily Newswatch was won in the Entertainment Writer of The Year category.

The Media Nite-Out Award is given to journalists in recognition of their contributions to the media industry and economic advancement of the nation.

The guest speaker, Omoba Segun Adewale, who is a senatorial aspirant Ogun West Senatorial District, spoke on the theme: The Role of Journalism in the Promotion of Democracy, Individual Rights and Civil Liberty in Nigeria.

Nweze is the winner of the 2012 Nigerian Media Merit Awards (NMMA), UBA Money Market Reporter of the Year category. He was also the first runner up in the Citi Journalistic Excellence Award 2013 organised by Citi International Bank.

This post has already been read 1 times!

This post was originally published on this site

Comments are closed.