Uganda wins Africa Under 19 Women Cricket trophy

The Africa Under 19 Women Cricket trophy will remain in the East African region as hosts Uganda emerged champions when the tournament came to a close this Monday evening in Kampala.

The Ugandan team lost only one game in the round robin event and tied with Botswana on points, but recorded a better net run rate in the three-day event.

In the games played Monday, Uganda defeated Mozambique and Tanzania, while Botswana saw off Kenya. Against Mozambique Damalie Busingye stroked 27 runs and Janet Mbabazi added an unbeaten 16 runs to give Uganda a win by 27 runs.

The Ugandan skipper Rebecca Mirembe won the toss and elected to bat. They set 76 runs with four in hand. Mozambique’s Marlene Domingos and Fatima Jao Moine scored 11 and 7 runs respectively but it was not enough to propel them to victory. They were all out for 49 runs with bowlers Janet Mbabazi 3/9 and Pricco Nakitende 1/3 sharing four wickets.`

“After coming third at last year’s event, we are happy to become African champions,” said Uganda’s coach Grace Mutyagaba.

Uganda’s victory over Tanzania this evening by one wicket gave the hosts the victory as Botswana would win if Uganda had lost a second game.

2011 champions Tanzania also defeated Rwanda in one of the games after their opponents chased and managed a miserable 39/10, while Tanzania had put on 85/8. Tanzania’s Ammi Mwanaidi and Mariam Saidi picked 15 and 11 runs respectively.

In the other competitive match, Botswana beat Kenya 2 wickets. Botswana who led the standings on Sunday put on 64/8, and Kenya chased to put on 63/5. Batsani Olebobeng was in good form for Botswana after blasting 24 runs

The tournament which is used to build women’s cricket around Africa attracted Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Rwanda and Mozambique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>